Sorry you have reached your entry limit. Please call for assistance.
If you are a California driver, you may have heard that the California cell phone driving law prohibits texting or calling while driving. This is true to a certain extent. However, like most laws, it is a little more complex than that. Below is some valuable information on what is and isn’t legal. If you find yourself in trouble for using a phone while driving, a calling / texting and driving ticket lawyer may be able to help.
In California, drivers may not use cell phones to call or text while driving with a few exceptions. Most relevant for the majority of situations is that using a hands-free cell phone system is allowed if the driver is 18 or older. The law defines a hands-free system as being one with the cellphone mounted on the windshield or dashboard and that the driver can activate or deactivate with a single swipe or tap.
Additionally, drivers may use a cell phone, even a handheld one, to make emergency calls to law enforcement or other emergency services. The California cell phone law only applies to drivers on public roads. If you are on private property, you can use a cell phone while driving.
The fine for breaking this law is $20 for the first violation and $50 for subsequent violations. However, you will likely pay more due to the addition of assessments. The total will likely be over $150 for the first offense and over $250 for subsequent offenses.
If you find yourself on the wrong side of the California cell phone law, contact us to get the right team in your corner. We are California’s go-to cell phone, speeding and reckless driving lawyers. People make mistakes, unfair tickets get issued. A ticket doesn’t have to be the end of the story. Don’t let tickets go unchallenged.