THE TICKET CLINIC California

Driving and Marijuana: California Laws

June 4, 2018

Since January 1, 2018, it has been legal to use marijuana recreationally in California. However, just as you can’t get behind the wheel when you’ve been drinking, you can’t drive when you’ve used marijuana. Check out this guide to learn whether your situation requires a DUI ticket attorney.

Penalties for Being Caught Driving Under the Influence

The penalties for driving after using marijuana vary depending on several factors. If it is your first offense, you may receive informal probation of up to five years, between four days and six months in county jail and a fine of up to $1,000. You may also lose your license for six months, which means it is important to hire someone who can try to perform a DUI ticket fix if you feel you’ve been wrongfully accused.

Keep in mind that penalties are even harsher if you’ve been caught driving under the influence in the past. If your reckless driving while under the influence causes an injury accident, you could face up to 16 years in state prison, pay more than $5,000 in fines, pay restitution to the injured parties or lose your license for up to five years with no chance of converting it to a restricted license.

Fighting the Charges

Luckily, you do have a chance to fight the charges in many cases. Whatever you do, don’t skip out on a ticket. If you don’t pay your ticket for driving under the influence, you could be in even more trouble. Focus on finding an attorney who can help you prove your case. This may be that you didn’t use marijuana, weren’t high anymore or didn’t exhibit signs of impaired driving.

Of course, to get the full depth of your situation and determine what your options are, you’ll need to talk to a professional. Whether you need DUI help or a speeding ticket fix, the ticket fighters at The Ticket Clinic do their best to help. Get in touch with them for more information.