8 Surprising Reasons California Laws Can Suspend Your License

March 21, 2018

Our experienced traffic attorneys at the Ticket Clinic want you to be aware of how you can get your license suspended. Here are 8 reasons you may not know about:

  1. Accumulating Too Many Points

California has a Negligent Operator Treatment System (NOTS) that tracks your driving violations. You will get your license suspended if you receive:

  • 4 points within 1 year
  • 6 points within 2 years
  • 8 points within 3 years

Common violations include speeding, reckless driving, or getting a red light camera ticket. If you get pulled over for any violation, including reckless driving, make sure you talk to our reckless driving ticket fixers.

  1. Failing to Pay a Ticket

If you don’t pay the fine after getting a ticket, your license could be suspended. If this happens to you, get help from an unpaid suspended license ticket attorney.

  1. Not Paying Child Support

Believe it or not, failing to make court-ordered child support payments may affect driving privileges. This is because of California’s strict child support laws.

  1. Driving Under the Influence

Drunk driving charges will immediately result in a license suspension. Thankfully, the Ticket Clinic can provide you with a DUI ticket fix.

  1. Refusing a Chemical Test

If you get pulled over for a DUI and you refuse to take the test, you will get your driving privileges revoked.

  1. Under 21 With Alcohol

If you’re under the legal drinking age and have an open container or have alcohol in your system, you can get your license suspended for a year.

  1. No Insurance

If you’re an uninsured driver involved in an accident, the DMV may take your license away for at least a year.

  1. Certain Physical or Mental Conditions

The DMV may suspend your license if you have a health condition that affects your ability to drive safely.

Are you facing a ticket or license suspension? Contact our attorneys online or call for a consultation at 1-800-248-2846.